lectures / readings / talks

Anesthesia Grand Rounds: "Big Bad Data Wrangling"

Monday, August 29, 2016.  6:45 AM.
Li Ka Shing Center 130


How do you Motivate a Teenager?

Wednesday, August 31, 2016.  12:00 PM.
3160 Porter Dr, Palo Alto Pacific Ocean Conference Room


Anesthesia Grand Rounds: "Research at Stanford University: Recent Achievements and Future Developments"

Monday, September 12, 2016.  6:45 AM.
Li Ka Shing Center 130


The Rock Center and SVDX present The Evolution of Pay for Performance - shareholder vigilance or apathy?

Thursday, September 15, 2016.  7:30 AM.
Room 290, Stanford Law School


The Electoral College and the Crisis of Presidential Legitimacy: Some Dark Concerns

Tuesday, September 20, 2016.  4:30 PM.
Paul Brest Hall


Stanford Medicine | Dean's Lecture Series | Hannah A. Valantine, MD - NIH Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity

Wednesday, September 21, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center


The Bright Award for Environmental Sustainability in honor of Tom Lalampaa

Wednesday, September 28, 2016.  4:30 PM.
Paul Brest Hall, Munger Graduate Residences


I Don't Know: How Doctors Cope with Uncertainity in Medicine

Thursday, September 29, 2016.  5:30 PM.
Li Ka Shing Center, Room 203/204


Build A Pokemon

Saturday, October 1, 2016.  8:00 PM.
Arrillaga Outdoor Education and Recreation Center


Colum McCann Reading, part of the Lane Lecture Series

Monday, October 3, 2016.  8:00 PM.
TBA


Using Cryptographic Techniques to Ensure Fair Randomness in Legal Processes

Wednesday, October 5, 2016.  12:45 PM.
Stanford Law School, Room 190


Faculty Lecture: Alexander Nemerov, "Soulmaker: The Times of Lewis Hine"

Wednesday, October 5, 2016.  6:00 PM.
Cantor Auditorium


Cathedrals in the Wheatfields: Parables from Stanford's Founding

Thursday, October 6, 2016.  05:00 PM.
CEMEX Auditorium, Knight Management Center


Examined by War: New Bonds and Old Cleavages in Post-Maidan Ukrainian Society

Thursday, October 6, 2016.  5:30 PM.
Location to be announced


Jazz 100: The Music of Dizzy, Ella, Mongo, & Monk

Thursday, October 6, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Screen on the Green: Ghostbusters

Thursday, October 6, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Wilbur Field


Brexit: What's next for the UK and Europe?

Monday, October 10, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Oksenberg Conference Room


Behavior, Energy & Climate - Conference October 19 - 22

Wednesday, October 19, 2016.
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace | Baltimore, Maryland


Brexit, Trump and the politics of fear: is populism here to stay?

Thursday, October 27, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Bechtel Conference Center


A Genealogy of Liberty

Thursday, October 27, 2016.  6:00 PM.
Stanford Humanities Center- Levinthal Hall


Health Policy Forum | Mental Illness: A Global Challenge

Wednesday, November 2, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Berg Hall A, Li Ka Shing Center


CBD 2016: Introduction to Contemplative Practices: P.E.A.C.E. for oneself and others

Thursday, November 3, 2016.  12:00 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Contemplative Skills for Wise Civic Engagement

Thursday, November 3, 2016.  5:30 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Carillon Concert and Quiet Contemplation

Friday, November 4, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Dohrmann Grove, the Oval Ear and Meyer Green Lawn


CBD 2016: The Power of Humanization to Bring Out the Best in Ourselves and Others: A conversation with Albert Bandura, Alia Crum and Tom Schnaubelt

Friday, November 4, 2016.  5:30 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Savoring Stanford's Tress: A campus contemplative walk

Saturday, November 5, 2016.  10:00 AM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Tangible Tools to Promote Meditation

Saturday, November 5, 2016.  11:30 AM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Savoring Stanford's Tress: A campus contemplative walk

Saturday, November 5, 2016.  1:00 PM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: P.E.A.C.E. walk: A campus contemplative walk

Saturday, November 5, 2016.  3:00 PM.
Andy Goldsworthy Stone River sculpture (Cantor Center for Visual Arts)


CBD 2016: University Public Worship Sermon: Universal Gems from the Jewish Contemplative Tradition

Sunday, November 6, 2016.  10:00 AM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Savoring Stanford's Tress: A campus contemplative walk

Sunday, November 6, 2016.  1:00 PM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Taiko Drumming as a Contemplative Practice: An experiential workshop

Sunday, November 6, 2016.  3:00 PM.
Dinkelspiel Auditorium


CBD 2016: Contemplation & Compline in Memorial Church

Sunday, November 6, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Storytelling as a Contemplative Practice

Monday, November 7, 2016.  12:30 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Guided Meditation in Windhover

Monday, November 7, 2016.  4:00 PM.
Windhover Contemplative Center


CBD 2016: Walking Meditation and Contemplation of Memorial Church Inscriptions

Tuesday, November 8, 2016.  12:00 PM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Om Under the Dome (yoga)

Tuesday, November 8, 2016.  5:30 PM.
Memorial Church


CBD 2016: Silent Yoga in Windhover

Wednesday, November 9, 2016.  8:15 AM.
Windhover Contemplative Center


CBD 2016: Optimizing Positve and Minimizing Negative Stress

Wednesday, November 9, 2016.  12:30 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Contemplative Skills for Post Election Reflection

Wednesday, November 9, 2016.  5:30 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: What to Remember When Waking: The Disciplines of Everyday Life

Thursday, November 10, 2016.  12:00 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Solace: The Art of Asking the Beautiful Question

Thursday, November 10, 2016.  4:00 PM.
TBD


CBD 2016: Guided Meditation Sessions

Friday, November 11, 2016.  7:45 AM.
Mulitple locations on Stanford Campus


Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell

Wednesday, November 16, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


A Festival of Lessons and Carols

Friday, December 9, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Stanford Memorial Church


A Festival of Lessons and Carols

Saturday, December 10, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Stanford Memorial Church


Black Violin

Ongoing from January 27, 2017 through January 28, 2017. See details for exact dates and times.
Bing Concert Hall


Manual Cinema

Ongoing from February 1, 2017 through February 4, 2017. See details for exact dates and times.
Bing Concert Hall Studio


'Girls Coming to Tech!' A History of American Engineering Education for Women

Thursday, February 2, 2017.
tbd


Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet

Sunday, February 19, 2017.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


A Reading with Juan Felipe Herrera

Monday, March 6, 2017.  8:00 PM.
TBA


Jelly and George: Celebrating the Music of Jelly Roll Morton and George Gershwin

Saturday, March 11, 2017.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Black Grace

Sunday, March 19, 2017.  2:30 PM.
Memorial Auditorium


Emerson String Quartet

Friday, March 24, 2017.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Anoushka Shankar

Saturday, April 1, 2017.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


EarFilms- To Sleep To Dream

Ongoing from April 7, 2017 through April 9, 2017. See details for exact dates and times.
Bing Concert Hall Studio


St. Lawrence String Quartet Good Friday Concert

Friday, April 14, 2017.  5:00 PM.
Memorial Church


The Colorado

Ongoing from April 21, 2017 through April 22, 2017. See details for exact dates and times.
Bing Concert Hall


Jennifer Egan Reading, part of the Lane Lecture Series

Monday, April 24, 2017.  8:00 PM.
Cemex Auditorium, Zambrano Hall, GSB


Alisa Weilerstein and Inon Barnatan

Wednesday, April 26, 2017.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


The Box Brothers

Ongoing from May 5, 2017 through May 7, 2017. See details for exact dates and times.
Bing Concert Hall Studio