literary arts

Stanford Bookstore Meet the Author: Henry T. Greely

Tuesday, January 24, 2017.  6:00 PM.
Stanford Bookstore


Study Abroad in Japan Brown Bag Seminar

Wednesday, January 25, 2017.  12:00 PM.
Bechtel International Center, Conference Room, 1st Floor


Afro-Brazil: Oral Culture, Literature, and Digital Media

Thursday, January 26, 2017.  12:30 PM.
Bolivar House, 582 Alvarado Row


Forugh Farrokhzad: A Literary Biography and Unpublished Letters

Thursday, January 26, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 320, room 105


*Rescheduled* Stanford Med Writers Workshop

Saturday, January 28, 2017.  08:45 AM.
Home of Audrey Shafer (Mountain View)


"Jewish Identity in Question: The Legacy of Iréne Némirovsky" with Susan Suleiman

Monday, January 30, 2017.  5:00 PM.
Building 360, CCSRE Conference Room


CLAS Lecture Series: Becoming Black Political Subjects: Movements and Ethno-Racial Rights in Colombia and Brazil

Friday, February 3, 2017.  12:30 PM.
Bolivar House, 582 Alvarado Row


Another Look book club: Bohumil Hrabal's "Too Loud a Solitude"

Monday, February 6, 2017.  7:30 PM.
Bechtel Conference Center, Encina Hall


Alice Staveley, Michael Widner & Helen Southworth: "Book History Meets Digital Humanities: Designing for the Diasporic Archive in The Modernist Archives Publishing Project (MAPP)"

Tuesday, February 7, 2017.  12:00 PM.
Bldg. 160, Rm. 433A


Bobbie and Mike Wilsey Distinguished Lecture for 2017: Trevor Paglen

Wednesday, February 8, 2017.  7:00 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


"The Marriage Plot, Or, How Jews Fell in Love with Love, and with Literature" with Naomi Seidman

Thursday, February 9, 2017.  5:00 PM.
Building 360, CCSRE Conference Room


Poetry as Satire

Thursday, February 9, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Cubberley Auditorium


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, February 10, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Information Session on Worldwide Scholarships - Fulbright, Luce, DAAD, Gilman and many more

Wednesday, February 15, 2017.  4:00 PM.
Bechtel International Center, Conference Room, 1st Floor


Satan: How a fictional being still shadows our views of gender, race, and politics

Thursday, February 16, 2017.  6:00 PM.
Humanities Center- Levinthal Hall


The Idea of Iranshahr and Its Cultural Heritage

Thursday, February 16, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 320, room 105


A Reading with Stuart Dybek, the Stein Visiting Writer

Thursday, February 16, 2017.  8:00 PM.
Bechtel Conference Center, Encina Hall


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, February 17, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Information Session: China Scholarships - Schwarzman, Yenching Academy and more

Thursday, February 23, 2017.  4:00 PM.
Bechtel International Center, Conference Room, 1st Floor


New Perspectives on the Legacy of Surrealism

Thursday, February 23, 2017.  6:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Stanford Bookstore Meet the Author: Alison Davis

Thursday, February 23, 2017.  6:00 PM.
Stanford Bookstore


Literature of Migration

Thursday, February 23, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 260 room 113


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, February 24, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Stanford Bookstore Meet the Author: Min Jin Lee in Conversation with Prof. Shelley Fisher Fishkin

Saturday, February 25, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Stanford Bookstore


Information Session on Worldwide Scholarships - Fulbright, Luce, DAAD, Gilman and many more

Tuesday, February 28, 2017.  4:00 PM.
Bechtel International Center, Conference Room, 1st Floor


The Republic of Imagination: Iranian Women's Bestselling Novels

Thursday, March 2, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 320, room 105


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, March 3, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Juan Felipe Herrera Reading, part of the Lane Lecture Series

Monday, March 6, 2017.  8:00 PM.
Cubberley Auditorium, School of Education, 485 Lasuen Mall


Gallery Talk: The Conjured Life, The Legacy of Surrealism

Thursday, March 9, 2017.  4:30 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Pigott Gallery


Iran and South Africa

Thursday, March 9, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 320, room 105


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, March 10, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


"Affordances of Literary Forms and Media Formats: Towards a Sociology of Literary Historical Audiotexts"

Friday, March 10, 2017.  4:00 PM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Persian Contemporary Poetry

Tuesday, March 14, 2017.  6:30 PM.
Building 260 room 113


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, March 17, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, March 24, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Film Series: Surrealist Cinema

Friday, March 31, 2017.  1:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center, Auditorium


Jennifer Egan Reading, part of the Lane Lecture Series

Monday, April 24, 2017.  8:00 PM.
Cubberley Auditorium, School of Education, 485 Lasuen Mall


A Reading with Rebecca Solnit, the Stein Visiting Writer

Wednesday, April 26, 2017.  8:00 PM.
location TBA


MEDICINE and the MUSE: An Arts, Humanities, and Medicine Symposium

Thursday, April 27, 2017.  5:30 PM.
Stanford School of Medicine