Weapon on the Wall: American Posters of World War I

April 5, 2017 – September 2, 2017

See details below for exact dates and times.

Herbert Hoover Memorial Exhibit Pavilion Map

Sponsored by:
Hoover Institution Archives

In remembrance of America’s entry into the First World War in 1917, Weapon on the Wall explores one of the most powerful tools the country used to persuade its public to support and sustain the war effort: the poster. Drawing from the Hoover Institution’s world-renowned archive of more than 130,000 posters, the exhibition showcases the boldly graphic environment of WWI and traces the pictorial treatment of Americans’ most dire concerns, including enlistment, fear of the enemy, food conservation, morale on the homefront, women at work, and fundraising for victory.

When:
Wednesday, Apr 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Apr 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Apr 7, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Apr 8, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Apr 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Apr 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Apr 14, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Apr 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Apr 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Apr 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Apr 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Apr 21, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Apr 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Apr 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Apr 28, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Apr 29, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, May 4, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, May 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, May 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, May 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, May 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, May 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, May 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, May 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, May 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 31, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 1, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jun 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 3, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 7, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 8, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jun 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 10, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 14, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jun 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 17, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 21, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 22, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jun 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 24, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 28, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 29, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jun 30, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 1, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 6, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jul 7, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 8, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 13, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jul 14, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 20, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jul 21, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 22, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 27, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Jul 28, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 29, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 1, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 3, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Aug 4, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Aug 5, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 8, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 9, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 10, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Aug 11, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Aug 12, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 16, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 17, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Aug 18, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Aug 19, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 24, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Aug 25, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Aug 26, 2017 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 30, 2017 11:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 31, 2017 11:00 AM
Friday, Sep 1, 2017 11:00 AM
Saturday, Sep 2, 2017 11:00 AM
Where:
Herbert Hoover Memorial Exhibit Pavilion Map
Admission:

Free admission

Tags:

Arts Education International Visual Humanities Exhibition Public Service Women / Gender 

Audience:
General Public, Faculty/Staff, Students, Alumni/Friends, Members
Contact:
650-723-3563, sbozorgi@stanford.edu
More info:
Visit this website