Surface Tension: Undergraduate Honor's Thesis Exhibition

April 18, 2017 – May 7, 2017

See details below for exact dates and times.

COULTER ART GALLERY Map

Sponsored by:
Department of Art & Art History

As the culmination of the yearlong Honors Thesis program in Art Practice, Surface Tension presents the work of Jackie Langelier, Allegra McComb and Witt Fetter. Their work depicts three distinct environments: the saccharine realm of feminine youth, the cosmic void of bodily abjection, and the hypersphere of American visual culture. Through the mediums of photography, printmaking, and painting, each artist unearths the complexities that lie beneath simple and delicate surfaces.

In her sugary and uncanny photographs, Jackie Langelier documents the slippery decline from life and affluence into decomposition and vacancy. In her installation artwork, Allegra McComb creates a corridor of light and drypoint prints on paper to explore the diaphanous layers of pain and memory that accumulate on the surface of the body. Lastly, in his pastel-hued oil paintings, Witt Fetter investigates the deceptive power of digital images and screens within the sociopolitical sphere of America.

The three students worked closely with faculty, graduate students, and staff in the Art Department to realize their projects and this group exhibition. They met throughout the year for group critiques with visiting artists from the Bay Area and professors in the Art Department. They thank their advisors, Gail Wight, Camille Utterback, and Terry Berlier, and everyone in the Art Department who helped bring this exhibition to fruition.

Image: Allegra Clara McComb
 
VISITOR INFORMATION: The Coulter Art Gallery is located at 355 Roth Way on Stanford's campus. Parking is free after 4 PM weekdays, and all day on weekends. Entry is free of charge and open to the public - all are encouraged to attend!

 
Subscribe to announcements alike

When:
Tuesday, Apr 18, 2017 12:00 PM
Wednesday, Apr 19, 2017 12:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 20, 2017 12:00 PM
Friday, Apr 21, 2017 12:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 22, 2017 12:00 PM
Sunday, Apr 23, 2017 12:00 PM
Tuesday, Apr 25, 2017 12:00 PM
Wednesday, Apr 26, 2017 12:00 PM
Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 12:00 PM
Friday, Apr 28, 2017 12:00 PM
Saturday, Apr 29, 2017 12:00 PM
Sunday, Apr 30, 2017 12:00 PM
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 12:00 PM
Wednesday, May 3, 2017 12:00 PM
Thursday, May 4, 2017 12:00 PM
Friday, May 5, 2017 12:00 PM
Saturday, May 6, 2017 12:00 PM
Sunday, May 7, 2017 12:00 PM
Where:
COULTER ART GALLERY Map
Admission:

ON VIEW: TUESDAY - SUNDAY | NOON-6PM
FREE & OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

OPENING RECEPTION: THURSDAY, APRIL 20 | 4-6PM

Tags:

Arts Visual Exhibition Literary 

Audience:
General Public, Faculty/Staff, Students, Alumni/Friends, Members
Contact:
650-723-3404, cserruto@stanford.edu
More info:
Visit this website