Gallery Talk: The Matter of Photography in the Americas

Thursday, March 1, 2018

12:00 pm

Cantor Arts Center, Pigott Family Gallery Map

Sponsored by:
Cantor Arts Center, Department of Art & Art History

Jodi Roberts (Robert M. and Ruth L. Halperin Curator of Modern & Contemporary Art, Cantor Arts Center) will lead a gallery talk in The Matter of Photography in the Americas

The Matter of Photography in the Americas (February 7-April 30,2018) highlights groundbreaking works by artists from Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latino communities in the United States who cast a critical eye on photography as both an artistic medium and as a means of communication.

Gallery talks in this series include:

Thursday, March 1, 12pm, with Jodi Roberts, Cantor Arts Center
Saturday, March 3, 1pm, with Hannah Shor, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Sunday, March 4, 12pm, with Samantha Wassmer, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Wednesday, March 7, 12pm, with Tabitha Walker, Cantor Guide
Saturday, March 10, 1pm, with Jennie Waldow, Stanford University, Art and Art History
Thursday, March 15, 12pm, with Clara Galperin, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center (This talk will be given in Spanish)
Wednesday, March 21, 12pm, with Michelle Azout, Cantor Arts Center
Friday, March 23, 11am, with Elena Shtromberg, Associate Professor in the Department of Art & Art History at the University of Utah
Wednesday, March 28, 12pm, with Jessica Ventura, Cantor Arts Center
Thursday, April 5, 12pm, with Clara Galperin, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Thursday, April 12, 5pm, with Amelia Leland, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Friday, April 13, 1pm, with A-lan Holt, Stanford University, Institute for Diversity in the Arts
Saturday, April 14, 2pm,
 with Feddi Roth, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Thursday, April 19, 6pm, with Marci Kwon, Stanford University, Art and Art History
Wednesday, April 25, 12pm, with Reily Haag, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center
Thursday, April 26, 12pm, with Clara Galperin, Cantor Guide, Cantor Arts Center (This talk will be given in Spanish)

IMAGE: Miguel Calderón (Mexico, b. 1971), Serie Museo de Historia Natural #3 (Museum of Natural History series #3), 1995. Digital print. Courtesy of the artist and kurimanzutto, Mexico City

When:
Thursday, March 1, 2018
12:00 pm – 12:30 pm
Where:
Cantor Arts Center, Pigott Family Gallery Map
Admission:

This program is free and open to the public. Advanced registration is not required. 

Tags:

Arts Visual Tour 

Audience:
General Public, Faculty/Staff, Students, Alumni/Friends, Members
Contact:
650-736-9371, mazout@stanford.edu
More info:
Visit this website