department of art & art history

Exhibition

Reversals: Sixth Annual Undergraduate Juried Exhibition

Ongoing from October 1, 2019 – December 1, 2019

Stanford Art Gallery

Exhibition

Projections: A Selection of Short Films by MFA Documentary Film students and Film and Media Studies

Ongoing from October 7, 2019 – November 1, 2019

Miller Discussion Space, McMurtry Building

Exhibition

El Chamuco, the Devil is Around

Ongoing from October 14, 2019 – November 1, 2019

Mohr Student Gallery, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Chemistry and Film: Experiments in Living

Friday, October 18, 2019. 1:00 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Exhibition

Enrique Chagoya: Detention at the Border of Language

Ongoing from October 22, 2019 – December 6, 2019

Coulter Art Gallery

Lecture / Reading

Opening Reception: Enrique Chagoya: Detention at the Border of Language

Wednesday, October 23, 2019. 4:00 pm

Coulter Art Gallery

Ivone Margulies on In-Person Reenactment and Role-Play in French Verité Cinemas

Thursday, October 24, 2019. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Making History, Thinking Historically: Medieval and Early Modern Conceptions and Representations

Ongoing from November 7, 2019 – November 8, 2019. 4:30 pm

Stanford Humanities Center / David Rumsey Map Center

Lecture / Reading

Weintz Art Lecture Series: Charmaine Nelson

Tuesday, November 12, 2019. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

James Leo Cahill on Neo-Zoological Dramas: Comparative Anatomy by Other Means

Wednesday, November 13, 2019. 2:00 pm

McMurtry Building, Room 370

Lecture / Reading

Queer Encounters: Desiring Cinema in India - Navaneetha Mokkil

Thursday, November 14, 2019. 3:00 pm

McMurtry, Room 350

Lecture / Reading

Aleesa Alexander on Black Codes: The Art of Post-Civil Rights Alabama

Monday, November 18, 2019. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Studio Lecture Series: Ronald Rael

Thursday, November 21, 2019. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Screening

2019 Fall MFA Documentary Film Screening

Tuesday, December 10, 2019. 7:30 pm

TBA

Lecture / Reading

Nicole Fleetwood on Marking Time: Art in the Age of Mass Incarceration

Thursday, January 16, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Weintz Art Lecture Series: Rosalyn Deutsche

Thursday, February 20, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Francesco Casetti on Starting from Fear: Cinephobic Instances in Early Film Theory

Thursday, March 5, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Christensen Distinguished Lecture: Jacqueline Stewart

Thursday, March 12, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Screening

2020 Winter MFA Documentary Film Screening

Tuesday, March 17, 2020. 7:30 pm

TBA

Lecture / Reading

Studio Lecture Series: Coco Fusco

Thursday, April 2, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Studio Lecture Series: Yoshua Okón

Thursday, April 30, 2020. 5:00 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Weintz Art Lecture Series: Nicola Suthor

Monday, May 4, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Lecture / Reading

Todd Hido, Sources and Influences

Wednesday, May 13, 2020. 5:30 pm

Oshman Hall, McMurtry Building

Screening

2020 Spring Film Production 114 Film Screening

Friday, June 5, 2020. 5:00 pm

Oshman Hall, Room 102

Screening

2020 Spring MFA Documentary Film Screening

Thursday, June 11, 2020. 7:30 pm

TBA

Screening

2020 Thesis Documentary Film Screening

Saturday, June 13, 2020. 2:00 pm

TBA