Skip to main content

New Music Exchange with Japan: Ensemble Kujoyama – Concert 1

Sponsored by

This event is over.

Event Details:

CCRMA and the Department of Music are proud to present two concerts by the Japanese Ensemble Kujoyama, who are performing in the US for the very first time! For this occasion, the Ensemble will be joined by the conductor, Yoshiaki Onishi.

The first concert will feature the works of ten undergraduate students: Analiese Bancroft, Zac Dulkin, Lydia Goedert, Andrew Tin-Lok Lee, Ben Limric, Howard Qin, Renee Qin, Na Young Son, Jenny Xiong, and Ryan Yu.

The members of the Ensemble Kujoyama were first brought together in 2010 for a residency at the Villa Kujoyama, in Kyoto. They regrouped in 2015 and founded the ensemble, which has since then received praises for its high standard and brilliant interpretations. Devoted to the interpretation of new music, the members of the ensemble are active in Japan and abroad, performing not only with the ensemble but also as soloists.

Ensemble members:
Maki Ota, soprano
Kaori Wakabayashi, flute
Nozomi Ueda clarinet
Mayuko Ishigami, violin
Shoko Fukutomi, cello
Yuri Morimoto, piano
Asuka Hatanaka, percussion

These concerts are made possible thanks to the support from the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, the Stanford Shenson Fund, Stanford Friends of Music, American Asian Cultural Exchange, the Department of Music, and CCRMA. Also, the ensemble Kujoyama received a traveling grant from the Nomura Foundation and from the Japan Foundation.

Amission Information

  • Free admission
  • Note that Stanford University guidelines now state that masks are no longer required, but are strongly recommended. We encourage you to continue wearing masks for the comfort of our patrons, staff, and artists. Proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test is no longer required.

1 person is interested in this event