Beethoven's Revolution: The Musical Odyssey from His First String Quartet to His Last

Saturday, February 10, 2018

7:30 pm

Science Teaching & Learning Center Auditorium Map

Sponsored by:
Continuing Studies

In the quarter century between 1801, when a young, brash Beethoven wrote his first string quartet (Op. 18 No. 5) to 1826, when he penned his last (Op. 135), the course of music history had been changed by the now completely deaf and isolated genius. Between live performances of these two amazing quartets, we will discuss and illustrate Beethoven’s musical and spiritual development and how the force of his compositions steered the evolution of classical music from Haydn and Mozart toward Brahms, Mahler, and the 21st century. 

This program is hosted by the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra’s music director, Ben Simon, featuring the SFCO All-Stars: Kay Stern and Hrabba Atladottir, violins; Ben Simon, viola; and Eric Gaenslen, cello. 

Ben Simon, Music Director, San Francisco Chamber Orchestra (SFCO); Violist

Ben Simon is now in his sixteenth season as music director of the SFCO. He is also the music director of the award-winning youth ensemble Palo Alto Chamber Orchestra. Simon has been teaching Continuing Studies courses since 1996, and has organized Public Programs featuring the music of Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Bartók, Schubert, Bernstein, Mozart, and Mendelssohn, among others.

Saturday, February 10, 2018
7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
Science Teaching & Learning Center Auditorium Map

Free and open to the public


Arts Lecture / Reading Music 

General Public, Faculty/Staff, Students, Alumni/Friends
More info:
Visit this website