David Behrman: Interactive Situations

Thursday, February 21, 2019

7:30 pm

CCRMA Stage, The Knoll Map

Sponsored by:
Department of Music, Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics

David Behrman’s program will include revivals of two pieces from the early days of electronic / computer music, as well as one or two recent ones. These are pieces in which the electronics provide situations to be explored rather than fixed compositions with specific instructions to performers. The concert will follow a week of collaborative work with Mills College students during Behrman’s residency there, and will feature participation by two of the Mills grad students.

David Behrman has been active as a composer and artist since the 1960s. Over the years, he has made sound and multimedia installations, as well as compositions for performance in concerts. My Dear Siegfried, Leapday Night, On the Other Ocean, Interspecies Smalltalk, and Open Space with Brass are among Behrman's works for soloists and ensembles. Among his sound and multimedia installations are Cloud Music (a collaboration with Robert Watts and Bob Diamond), Pen Light (2002), and View Finder (2005.) Cloud Music was acquired into the permanent collection of the Smithsonian Museum in 2013. Together with Robert Ashley, Alvin Lucier, and Gordon Mumma, Behrman founded the Sonic Arts Union in 1966. Sonic Arts performed extensively in North America and Europe from 1966–76. He was co-director of the Center for Contemporary Music at Mills College from 1975–80. Over a period of several decades Behrman was associated as composer and performer with the Cunningham Dance Company and received commissions to compose music for several of the repertory dances. The first of those, “Walkaround Time” from 1968, was revised and restaged in 2017 for the Paris Opera Ballet. During the '60s and '70s, he assisted John Cage and David Tudor with several projects, among them 9 Evenings: Theatre and Engineering (EAT) in 1966. Behrman has received grants, commissions, and residencies from various sources, among them the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, the DAAD, the Atlantic Center for the Arts, and the Japan / United States Friendship Commission. In 2016, he held the Inge Maren Otto composer’s fellowship at the American Academy in Berlin.

Audio recordings of his works are on the Alga Marghen, XI, Lovely Music, Wergo, and Pogus labels; videos can be viewed at Roulette.org and ubu.com.

Thursday, February 21, 2019
7:30 pm – 9:30 pm
CCRMA Stage, The Knoll Map



Arts Performance Visual Humanities Music 

General Public, Faculty/Staff, Students, Alumni/Friends
More info:
Visit this website