Lecture / Reading

CBD 2019: Audrey Shafer, MD and Andrew Ridker in conversation about his novel, The Altruists

Sponsored by Department of Medicine Stanford Prevention Research Center, Contemplation By Design, Stanford Medicine and the Muse Program, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics, LifeWorks, The Stanford Storytelling Project


Saturday, November 2, 2019
7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Add to my calendar


Tresidder Oak Lounge, 498 Santa Teresa Street, Stanford, CA 94305
Open in map

Contact via email

This event is open to:

See event details for admission info.

Event Details:

Prof. Audrey Shafer and Andrew Ridker will discuss healthy and unhealthy altruism, and the intersection of privilege and progress, as explored in Ridker's debut novel, The Altruists. They also will discuss the role of literature in society and how the creative process transfigures fact into fiction.

Audrey Shafer, MD is Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine/Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System; and founder and director, Stanford Medicine and the Muse Program, Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics. She is co-founder of Pegasus Physician Writers and a founding editor of The Pegasus Review. She directed the cross-campus initiative, Frankenstein@200, which included exhibits, an international conference, courses and events. She is the author of The Mailbox, a children’s novel on posttraumatic stress disorder in veterans, and her poetry on anesthesia, health humanities and family life has been published in journals and anthologies.

Andrew Ridker is the author of The Altruists, a New York Times Editors' Choice, published in eighteen countries. He is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and is the editor of Privacy Policy: The Anthology of Surveillance Poetics. His writing has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Paris Review Daily, Boston Review, The Believer, and elsewhere.

Registration opens here September 10, 2019 at 9:00am. 

Free and open to everyone.

BeWell berry is awarded to University faculty and staff for registered participation.

Visit this website for more information