CCRMA Live presents Mivos Quartet: Virtual Salon

Sponsored by Department of Music, Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics


Saturday, November 14, 2020
5:00 pm – 6:30 pm
Add to my calendar



Contact via email

This event is open to:

Event Details:

Please join us in a virtual salon with Mivos Quartet performing a string trio with electronics by Rocco di Pietro and string quartets by Stanford composers Mark Applebaum, Utku Asuroglu, Jarosław Kapuściński, and Julie Zhu. The event will include readings of the works (including two premieres) and a discussion between the musicians and the composers. | Livestreaming on Zoom | RSVP here.

The Mivos Quartet, “one of America’s most daring and ferocious new-music ensembles” (The Chicago Reader), is devoted to performing works of contemporary composers and presenting new music to diverse audiences. Since the quartet's beginnings in 2008, they have performed and closely collaborated with an ever-expanding group of international composers representing multiple aesthetics of contemporary classical composition. Beyond expanding the string quartet repertoire, Mivos is also committed to working with guest artists, exploring multi-media projects involving live video and electronics, and performing improvised music. The quartet is the recipient of the 2019 Dwight and Ursula Mamlok Prize for Interpreters of Contemporary Music.

In addition to their performance season, Mivos is active in education and has conducted workshops at UC Berkeley, Duke University, CUNY Graduate Center, Brooklyn College Conservatory of Music, Royal Northern College of Music (UK), Shanghai Conservatory (China), University Malaya (Malaysia), Yong Siew Toh Conservatory (Singapore), the Hong Kong Art Center, and MIAM University in Istanbul (Turkey).

Mivos Quartet

  • Olivia De Prato, violin
  • Maya Bennardo, violin
  • Victor Lowrie Tafoya, viola
  • Tyler J. Borden, cello