Exhibition

Between: Artist Books, Albums, and Portfolios from the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford

Sponsored by Department of Special Collections, Stanford University Libraries

When

May 27, 2021 – September 26, 2021
See event details for additional info.
Add to my calendar

Where

Green Library Bing Wing, 2nd Floor

Contact via email

This event is open to:
Faculty/Staff, Students

Admission
See event details for admission info.

Event Details:

Exhibition to show May 27, 2021 — September 26, 2021, in Green Library 

Stanford Libraries presents Between: Artist Books, Albums, and Portfolios from the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford, on view May 27, 2021, through September 26, 2021, in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda, Green Library Bing Wing. The exhibition celebrates the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive, recently acquired by Stanford Libraries’ Special Collections.

Although known primarily as a Western landscape photographer, Ruwedel has acknowledged a highly varied range of artistic influences from such crucial 19th-century photographers as Carleton Watkins (held in-depth by Stanford Libraries Special Collections) and William Henry Jackson, the 1970s New Topographics photographers such as Lewis Baltz and Robert Adams, Earthworks artists such as Robert Smithson and Michael Heizer, the conceptual works of Richard Long, even the Surrealists Man Ray, and Andre Breton. Ruwedel has acknowledged that he fits somewhere “in between” a host of sometimes competing, sometimes complementary inspirations. Consequently, his work is of particular value within a teaching institution such as Stanford University, providing multiple opportunities to investigate diverse aspects of 19th, 20th, and 21st-century art and photographic practices. 

In conjunction with the exhibition’s opening, a virtual event: In-Conversation: The Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford, hosted by the Department of Special Collections and Stanford Libraries, will occur online on May 27th, 2021, from 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm. This event is free and open to the public; registration is required.

NOTE: In addition to the physical exhibition, there is a forthcoming online exhibition and print catalog; stay tuned to the Current Exhibits page for updates.

Between will be on display in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda exhibit cases from May 27, 2021 – September 26, 2021.

NOTE: Exhibit cases in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda are illuminated from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday - Friday, and Sunday. Visitors are encouraged to call 650-723-0931 or visit the Library Hours page to confirm hours.

The exhibition is free and currently restricted to the following current Stanford ID cardholders: students, post-docs, professors (including emeriti), academic staff, fellows, and Stanford visiting scholars. Learn about the Libraries' entry requirements and available services.

Dates & Times

Thursday, May 27, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, May 28, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, May 29, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, May 30, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, May 31, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 1, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 2, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 3, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jun 4, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 5, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 6, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jun 7, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 8, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 9, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 10, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jun 11, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 12, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 13, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jun 14, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 15, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 16, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 17, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jun 18, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 19, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 20, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jun 21, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 23, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 24, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jun 25, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jun 26, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 27, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jun 28, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 30, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 1, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jul 2, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 3, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 4, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jul 5, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 6, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 7, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 8, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jul 9, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 10, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 11, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jul 12, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 13, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 14, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jul 16, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jul 19, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 21, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jul 23, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 24, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 25, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Jul 26, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 27, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 28, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 29, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Jul 30, 2021 9:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 31, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 1, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Aug 2, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 3, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 4, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 5, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Aug 6, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 8, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Aug 9, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 10, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 12, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Aug 13, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 15, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Aug 16, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 18, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 19, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Aug 20, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Aug 23, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 25, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 26, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Aug 27, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 29, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Aug 30, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 1, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 2, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Sep 3, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 5, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Sep 6, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 7, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 8, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 9, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Sep 10, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 12, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Sep 13, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 16, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Sep 17, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 19, 2021 9:00 AM
Monday, Sep 20, 2021 9:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2021 9:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2021 9:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 23, 2021 9:00 AM
Friday, Sep 24, 2021 9:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 26, 2021 9:00 AM

Visit this website for more information