Exhibition

Between: Artist Books, Albums, and Portfolios from the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford

Sponsored by Department of Special Collections, Stanford University Libraries

When

May 27, 2021 – September 26, 2021
See event details for additional info.
Add to my calendar

Where

Green Library Bing Wing, 2nd Floor
Open in map

Contact via email

This event is open to:
Faculty/Staff, Students

Admission
See event details for admission info.

Event Details:

Exhibition to show May 27, 2021 — September 26, 2021, in Green Library 

Stanford Libraries presents Between: Artist Books, Albums, and Portfolios from the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford, on view May 27, 2021, through September 26, 2021, in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda, Green Library Bing Wing. The exhibition celebrates the Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive, recently acquired by Stanford Libraries’ Special Collections.

Although known primarily as a Western landscape photographer, Ruwedel has acknowledged a highly varied range of artistic influences from such crucial 19th-century photographers as Carleton Watkins (held in-depth by Stanford Libraries Special Collections) and William Henry Jackson, the 1970s New Topographics photographers such as Lewis Baltz and Robert Adams, Earthworks artists such as Robert Smithson and Michael Heizer, the conceptual works of Richard Long, even the Surrealists Man Ray, and Andre Breton. Ruwedel has acknowledged that he fits somewhere “in between” a host of sometimes competing, sometimes complementary inspirations. Consequently, his work is of particular value within a teaching institution such as Stanford University, providing multiple opportunities to investigate diverse aspects of 19th, 20th, and 21st-century art and photographic practices. 

In conjunction with the exhibition’s opening, a virtual event: In-Conversation: The Mark Ruwedel Photography Archive at Stanford, hosted by the Department of Special Collections and Stanford Libraries, will occur online on May 27th, 2021, from 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm. This event is free and open to the public; registration is required.

NOTE: In addition to the physical exhibition, there is a forthcoming online exhibition and print catalog; stay tuned to the Current Exhibits page for updates.

Between will be on display in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda exhibit cases from May 27, 2021 – September 26, 2021.

NOTE: Exhibit cases in the Peterson Gallery and Munger Rotunda are illuminated from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday - Friday, and Sunday. Visitors are encouraged to call 650-723-0931 or visit the Library Hours page to confirm hours.

The exhibition is free and currently restricted to the following current Stanford ID cardholders: students, post-docs, professors (including emeriti), academic staff, fellows, and Stanford visiting scholars. Learn about the Libraries' entry requirements and available services.

Dates & Times

Thursday, May 27, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, May 28, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, May 30, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, May 31, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 1, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 2, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 3, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jun 4, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 6, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jun 7, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 8, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 9, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 10, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jun 11, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 13, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jun 14, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 15, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 16, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jun 17, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jun 18, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 20, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jun 21, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 23, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jun 25, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jun 27, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jun 28, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jun 30, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 1, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jul 2, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 4, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jul 5, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 6, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 7, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 8, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jul 9, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 11, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jul 12, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 13, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 14, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jul 16, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jul 19, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 21, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jul 23, 2021 12:00 AM
Saturday, Jul 24, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Jul 25, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Jul 26, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Jul 27, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Jul 28, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jul 29, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Jul 30, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 1, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Aug 2, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 3, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 4, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 5, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Aug 6, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 8, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Aug 9, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 10, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 12, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Aug 13, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 15, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Aug 16, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 18, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 19, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Aug 20, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 22, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Aug 23, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Aug 25, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Aug 26, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Aug 27, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Aug 29, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Aug 30, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 1, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 2, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Sep 3, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 5, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Sep 6, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 7, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 8, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 9, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Sep 10, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 12, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Sep 13, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 16, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Sep 17, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 19, 2021 12:00 AM
Monday, Sep 20, 2021 12:00 AM
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2021 12:00 AM
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2021 12:00 AM
Thursday, Sep 23, 2021 12:00 AM
Friday, Sep 24, 2021 12:00 AM
Sunday, Sep 26, 2021 12:00 AM

Visit this website for more information